Sunday, December 4, 2022
Speed Boat Beach outkicked Game Time in the final furlong to win the $100,000 Cecil B. DeMille S. (G3) by a half-length over the Del Mar turf on Dec. 4...
Monday, November 28, 2022
Defunded was followed under the wire by Azul Coast in Sunday’s $150,000 Native Diver S. (G3) to give the Bob Baffert barn a 1-2 finish...
Sunday, November 20, 2022
Havnameltdown held off stablemate Newgate to win Sunday’s $100,000 Bob Hope S. (G3) by 1 ¼-lengths...
Charlatan returns to dominate Malibu S. (G1)
Saturday, December 26, 2020
Charlatan won Saturday's $300,000 Malibu S. (G1) at Santa Anita Park in convincing style, coming back from a seven-month layoff to score by 4 1/2-lengths under Mike Smith.

Charlatan is Baffert's fourth Malibu winner, joining McKinzie, Shakin It Up and The Factor.

Charlatan had been away from the races since winning the Arkansas Derby (G1) by six lengths, a race he was later controversially disqualified from purse money, a decision that is currently under appeal.

At the break Nashville quickly assumed command and flew through fractions of :21.81 and :43.95, with Charlatan just a length behind. The two came on even terms with a quarter mile to run. Nashville offered little resistance as Charlatan pulled away in the upper stretch, then was eased up in the final sixteenth when the win was assured.

“They were rolling early, there was a really good horse he was chasing,” said Baffert. “With what this horse has been through, I'm just happy for the whole team and everybody involved, to show he is a really special horse. Hopefully, we will have a good (2021) with him. That was an incredible performance off the layoff.”

Charlatan broke his maiden at first asking at Santa Anita on Feb. 16, winning by 5 3/4 lengths going six furlongs. He then won a one-mile allowance race at Santa Anita on March 14, drawing off by 10 1/4 lengths. He races for a partnership of SF Racing, Starlight Racing, Madaket Stables, Stone Stable, Frederick Hertrich III, John D. FIelding and Golconda Stable and is now 3-0-0 in four starts and has earned $247,200. 

Baffert 2013