Sunday, June 30, 2024
Bob Baffert’s Wynstock returned to the scene of his greatest triumph, last year’s Los Alamitos Futurity (G2), to win a wild running of the June 29 Los Alamitos Derby...
Tuesday, May 28, 2024
Mr Fisk collared front-running Reincarnate in the final furlong and went on to win Monday’s Hollywood Gold Cup (G2)...
Sunday, May 26, 2024
Adare Manor won Sunday’s Santa Margarita S. (G2) in nearly carbon-copy fashion of her victory in the 2023 running of the 1 1/8-mile race...
Undefeated Corniche cruises in American Pharoah S. (G1)
Saturday, October 2, 2021
Corniche gives Baffert his 10th win in the American Pharoah S. (G1) - Benoit photo
click here for larger

Corniche became Bob Baffert’s 10th winner of the American Pharoah S. (G1) on Friday at Santa Anita Park when the 2-year-old colt cruised to a 3 ¼-length victory over Pappacap.

The undefeated colt, owned by Speedway Stables, also earned himself a free trip to the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile (G1, Nov. 5 at Del Mar) as part of the Breeders’ Cup “Win and You’re In” series.

The American Pharoah was Corniche’s first start around two turns following his debut maiden win at 5 ½-furlongs. He went right to the front from his inside post, leading stablemate Rockefeller through moderate early fractions of :23.55 and :47.26. Corniche extended his lead on the final turn, easily fended off Pappacap in the stretch to win handily in 1:44.75 for the 1 1/16-miles on a fast main track.

"You never know until you send them two turns whether they'll be able handle it or not, and it looked like he handled it pretty well," Baffert said. "He's got a great mind so I'm pretty happy about that. Down the backside he was being chased by a really good horse (Rockefeller). It was a really good race all around.”

Corniche, a son of Quality Road who sold for $1.5 million this spring, has earned $222,000 in his two victories.

Baffert got his first of 10 American Pharoah wins with Souvenir Copy in 1997, when the race was called the Norfolk S. The race was named the FrontRunner from 2011-17, and was renamed after that for Baffert’s 2014 winner and 2015 Triple Crown winner and Horse of the Year.

Baffert 2013